One-Pot Pasta – Mexican Skillet

One-Pot Pasta - Mexican Skillet

What to have for supper on a sweltering hot, humid day?

I already used the eating out card the day before and it’s too late to throw anything in the slow cooker. I don’t feel the urge to barbecue, so stove-top it is. I found an awesomely easy recipe the other day and it’s very versatile. And it’s ready in 30ish minures or so! The original recipe is supposed to serve six, but after my family of four had their fill there is enough leftovers for everyone the next day. evil mommy grin

Here are a few of my notes that I attached to the recipe in Evernote:

  • The kids are NOT fans of the avocado. They didn’t complain too much though. So I can chuck them in if I’m craving avocado.
  • Poe (the tomato hater) decided he doesn’t mind the tomatoes in this recipe. As long as it’s only a few.
  • Ton inhaled dinner… so he likes it?
  • My husband suggested mixing in rice instead of pasta. His quote: “Pasta just seems wrong with Mexican dishes.” Okay…
  • I used ground beef. Awesome. Pretty sure you can use whatever ground meat or poultry that you have laying around.
  • Poe does not like the dark beans.
  • I didn’t use the cilantro. They never have cilantro in town. I need to add it to my indoor herb garden.
  • And don’t forget the sour cream.

One-Pot Pasta - Mexican Skillet

One-Pot Pasta – Mexican Skillet

Prep Time
10 minutes
Cook Time 20 minutes
Total Time 30 minutes

Serves: A whole boatload of people.

1 tablespoon olive oil (if using a low fat meat/poultry)
1 pound ground something (beef, turkey, chicken, venison)
1 Small onion, diced
680 ml canned tomato sauce
2 cups salsa
1 tbsp taco seasoning
2 cups cooked pasta (elbow, mini shells) OR rice
1 cup corn kernels
1 cup canned mixed beans
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 Roma tomato, diced
1 avocado, halved, seeded, peeled and diced
Sour Cream
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves

Heat olive oil in large saucepan over medium high heat. Add beef, break it up into fine pieces, cook until browned about 5 to 7 minute; drain. Add onions, cook till onions translucent.
Stir in tomato sauce, salsa and taco seasoning until well combined. Mix in pasta (or rice), corn and beans.
Top each dish with a sprinkling of cheese, add diced tomato and avocado. Add a dollop of sour cream and sprinkle with cilantro.
Serve with a side salad (a.k.a. a few spinach leaves)

Adapted from Damn Delicious via Julie’s Eats & Treats via Betty Crocker

Thank you for visiting. – Taryn

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

About
Archives
Instagram
September 27 2017 My boys and my girl ♡ September 23 2017 September 23 2017 I have a visitor this morning. Meera is very worried her mommy is missing her and that she is lonely all by herself. Poor Sarah, no kids to wake her up nice and early today. I feel so bad for her! September 21 2017 Obligatory "First Snow!" post. 😭❄ But it's still summer. ⛄❄ September 16 2017 Poe-tato doesn't like tomatoes 😍 September 8 2017 This may take longer than I first thought! Our freezer/celler will be well stocked with carrots this winter. 🐰🌱 August 24 2017 ♡ August 25 2017 Meadowview Park August 25 2017 Morning Breakfast with my baby. August 22 2017 School supplies! Just have to do Ton's and I'm done. 😎 So glad I'm finished printing Poe's name. 48 HB pencils! Why? 😣 Aug 19 2017 August 12 2017
Follow Gathering Adventures on WordPress.com
