Nov.26.15

I have something in common with my adorable cat, Dory.

DSC_2269-Edit

Birding!

DSC_8777-Edit

For different reasons, of course! While I want to enjoy the beauty and wonder of the little creatures, Dory wants to… yeah. He’s definitely not eyeing them up for aesthetic reasons. My poor housecat, stuck indoors, dreaming and drooling.

DSC_3975-Edit

Bear also likes to get in on the action, though I think she’s more inline with Dory’s thinking than mine. And she has the run of the backyard, so she occasionally gets to fulfill her wishes. :/

DSC_3012-Edit

This morning I came across a blog post with a book give-away. All I had to do was comment with my favourite bird. Wow. Pick ONE favourite bird-feeder bird or bird species. πŸ˜–Β That really doesn’t seem fair.Β I put my fancy thinking cap on and thought “think, think, think“.

When summer is over and the cold winds start blowing, my bird-feeders have less variety. When the weather gets particularly cold, even less.

House sparrows which crowd out my other birds visit year round. Booo, not a favourite.

DSC_4619-Edit

Black-capped chickadees ( ❀ ) brave the cold and those sparrows. A reliable friend.

DSC_3829-Edit

Blue Jays, Juncos, Nuthatches, Woodpeckers, Waxwings… Like, like, like, like, like.

DSC_4443-Edit

I had no idea I had a favourite bird-feeder bird, until I sat down think, think, thinking. The bird that gets me excited to see when the weather dips below -30 degrees Celsius (or colder) and I am sooo coldΒ (brrr), is the Redpoll.

DSC_4620-Edit

It’s nice to look out my window and see a small pop of colour flitting about against the bright, white backdrop of snow. An uplifting sight!

DSC_3890-Edit

DSC_4281-Edit

So, which bird makes you brighten up, pull out your camera and snap away (even when you’re not in a bird-watching mood)?

DSC_8783-Edit

Wait. These aren’t the birds you’re looking for.

DSC_3948-Edit DSC_3949-Edit

Have you ever done any birding in a McDonald’s parking lot? ^_^

DSC_3912-Edit

Happy Bird-Watching Friends O_O

DSC_9934-Edit-2

DSC_3611-Edit

Please enjoy my photos & share with your friends.
The best way to share my photos,
is to give your friends the link to my blog.
Please do not save my photos, enjoy them here!

Thank You,
Taryn

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Explore, Photos

Leave a Reply

About
Archives
Instagram
June 22 2017 The cat is slowly starting to think the dog may be alright 🐢🐱 June 21 2017 I went down a dangerous path my friends.... 😱 I deep fried my homemade pizza πŸ‘€ June 10 2017 How do you cool down after a grueling workout? πŸ˜„πŸΆπŸŒŠ June 10 2017 Please help identify a few plants in my yard. 😺 🌸🌱🌻 My babies in 2010 β™‘ June 9 2017 - Hey Tony! Can I get your autograph? πŸ˜šπŸ‘ Swipe left for more photographs. πŸ“· Fun memories in the canoe at Yellow Lake. Our 2015 trip to the Okanagan. #explorecanada #beautifulbritishcolumbia #okanagan #onthelake Our Banff National Park trip, June/July 2016. #explorecanada #banffnationalpark Swipe Left for the entire photograph! Another one of our past adventures. Cottonwood Flats Trail in Dinosaur Provincial Park, Alberta. Way back in 2014. It's almost always raining when we visit the Dinosaur Park. ⛆ But that's okay with us. Rain means we have more of the beautiful park to ourselves. #cottonwoodflats #dinosaurprovincialpark #explorecanada #swipeleft June 3 2017 Remembering Grandpa Allen June 6 2014 I see the moon and the moon sees me. #daymoon 🌜
Follow Gathering Adventures on WordPress.com
